Kansas Teacher Hall of Fame

Kansas Teachers' Hall of Fame (KTHOF)

Press Release

April, 2018

The Kansas Teachers' Hall of Fame in Dodge City is pleased to announce the Class of 2018.  This year's inductees include:

•          Jim Armendariz from Ogden;

•          Alan R. Cunningham from Dodge City;

•          Maureen Davis from Overland Park;

•          Jackie Elliott from Goodland;

•          Marcia Leon from Quinter;

•          Melanie A. Ralston from Topeka;

•          George Troutfetter from Salina.

The Class of 2018 will be 42nd Class to be inducted into the Kansas Teachers' Hall of Fame. A luncheon will be held in their honor, followed by the induction ceremony on Saturday, June 2, 2018 at Dodge City High School.

In 1977, the first state hall of fame for teachers was established in Dodge City, Kansas. Since its inception, 410 exemplary educators have been inducted into the Kansas Teachers' Hall of Fame. Each year, nominations are accepted from each of twelve districts in Kansas. The state selection committee meets in March to review the candidates, and complete the selection process.

The inductees must meet the highest of standards, including evidence of outstanding teaching and or/administration; evidence of positive interactions with the students and parents; qualities that set him/her apart from other educators; the continued pursuit of educational opportunities throughout career; a willingness to share ideas by conducting workshops, classes, etc. for parents, teachers, and/or administrators; involvement in community activities; educational recognition and awards; and an philosophy of education that is a positive example for others. Additionally, nominees must have been a K-12 or Vocational Technical School teacher or administrator for a minimum of 25 years in Kansas.

We are proud that Kansas, and especially Dodge City, is the home of the first Teachers' Hall of Fame in the United States, and appreciate this opportunity to recognize exemplary Kansas educators.

For further information, contact Kathy Frederking, President, KTHOF Board of Directors.

Kathy Frederking

Kansas Teachers' Hall of Fame 

Enabling this option will replace all fonts with the Open Dyslexic font.
Enabling this option will show a high-contrast version of this site's theme.